911, What’s Your Emergency?

A couple days ago I was on the Garmin website looking at a lot of cool stuff that I really want but probably don’t need.  As I was scrolling through the watches armed with GPS, topographic maps, heart rate monitors, virtual fitness instructors and golf course yardage markers I stumbled into the rabbit hole of satellite emergency devices.  These things are amazing.  They include a push button emergency button, the ability to send texts from anywhere, and GPS accuracy to the foot.  Due to the fact that I do most of my running alone with hit or miss cell phone connectivity, I immediately thought that I needed this.  How comforting would it be to know after that rock sniper breaks your ankle or that tree root ninja tosses you head first into the beautifully unforgiving surface of the earth, you could simply hit a button and help is on its way?  One button sends one signal and help is one the way, I must have it.  Wait, I think I already own it.

It’s been an interesting few weeks since we last spoke.  The last couple weeks have been described by some as a needed uprising and by others a breakdown in our society.  Maybe it was both.  Maybe it was neither.  I don’t think I’m smart enough to make that decision.  All I know is I’ve seen some awful things happen and some heroic things occur.  Without going into any detail whatsoever, I and many others witnessed a sickening display of humanity.  In the moment we all reacted well and did what we are supposed to do.  Of course, that’s the easy part.  The hard part is what happens after the initial reaction?  We were trained to react but not how to respond.  Think of it this way.  Everyone one of us trailrunners train and train to prepare ourselves for the next hill, the next race or the next personal challenge.  The question is, do we mentally or physically train ourselves how to respond if we injure ourselves midrun, DNF during a race or get lost in the desert?  I think the answer for most of us is no.  I know how to strap my shoes on and charge up a 1000 ft incline, but I have no idea how to survive if I trip and fall off that same incline.  I suppose that is the reason behind my need for an emergency button.  After the incident I mentioned earlier, I hit my emergency button and boy did the calvary come charging.

Within minutes of the incident I was receiving messages checking on my well being.  Within hours the messages were piling up.  If this was the late nineties, my nokia cell phone bill would have been outrageous. The messages were coming from some very interesting people in my life.  Regardless of who they were from I appreciated everyone.  Even with the messages, I felt I needed more.  I activated my emergency device. I had to beat off the first responders (family and friends, not police and fire) with a stick.  Long conversations, long rants and few tears were shared. One person reached out and told me if I needed anything they’d be in Iowa to help.  I live in Nevada.  The saying is true, you can’t pick your family.  I had offers to fly out and hang with me if I wanted, I declined.  One lunatic wouldn’t listen.  Without asking my opinion, a flight was booked and she came and stayed with me for a few days.  A few good runs, many more phone calls to family and her visit being so amazing mentally got me back on track.  Emergency over!   

Maybe, someday I’ll end up at the bottom of a deep ravine and I’ll need the cool Garmin emergency device.  Who knows, that device may save my life.  More likely, it will hang off the back of my running vest for eternity without ever being used.  The idea of it hanging there ready to alert those that can help is very comforting.  I’ve run thousands of miles and it wasn’t until two days ago that I even thought I may need a device such as this.  Of course, I have lived thousands of days and it wasn’t until a week ago that I activated the emergency device I was issued decades ago, my family.

Leave a comment